First steps, next steps

A couple of months ago, I decided it was time I made some changes in my career and life. Two of the most time-consuming, sleep-losing, life-changing things any one goes through.

Part of those changes was learning some new skills, which is where this blog comes in. I’m taking an online college class on social media and how to use them to promote yourself and others. As a longtime, admitted “old school” journalist for some time, it’s taking time getting used to this new world, this new approach to telling stories and promoting my skills.

So here we are. I’m trying to develop things like branding, content management, the use of images and which networks – Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Pinterest, etc. – can help get the word out on what I can do to help me make a living. It’s been good to be learning something again.

In time, hopefully soon, you’ll start to see what I’m talking about and I’ll be able to take these new skills and new outlets, combine them with what I’ve gained over my career so far, and see where I end up.

As they say, life is a journey. This is another part of my adventure.

Leave a Reply

