Reconnecting and connecting

We’ve all heard the saying, “you can’t go home again.” I’ve never fully understood what that meant, since I’ve always been welcome when I go back to places I grew up or lived. Or got in touch with people from my past.

This week was a case in point. I reconnected, through the magic of social media, with a good friend from my college days. It was great catching up and spending time with someone who I had a lot of things in common with and shared good times. We’ve traveled different journeys in life, but still welcomed the chance to reminisce and get caught up.

Friends FingersI also sat down for lunch with another friend I hadn’t seen in quite some time, but had kept in touch – again through social media – much more frequently. He’s in a position to hopefully help me in my latest turn on life’s trail, but he’s also a good friend.

As I continue to learn new skills and try to take my career in a new direction, I think it’s helpful to have some solid ground to anchor me as I go forward. At times, I may need a little support and encouragement and I know I have that to help. If I were doing this totally alone, it would be even more daunting that it seems.

I think one of life’s truest statements is about coming into this world alone and leaving it alone. But all the in between time is what makes each life different. I’m glad I’ve used mine to make the friends I have.

Writing 2

Leave a Reply

