Getting into this video/photography thing a little more

Me 032515
Mike McKibbin

Several months ago (too many, really) I set out on a professional quest to take my career to a next stage. I’m still hoping to find that stage. Job searches are so much more competitive than they were back in the day, and in my chosen profession – writing and storytelling – it’s all about multimedia storytelling these days.

In the spirit of trying to become more of a jack-of-all-trades (and hopefully not a master of none) I’ve done a little research into video storytelling and will try to use an upcoming weekend trek to Billings, Montana to flex these still-developing skills. I don’t have fancy, expensive cameras and lights – just a Kodak EasyShare C340 that I haven’t really used in a while. And a cell phone that doesn’t produce very good photos as a backup. The results might be fairly amateurish, but I’ve seen many a YouTube video that doesn’t look very professional get thousands, even millions of views.

Multimedia 3Since I’ll probably be doing most of the driving, I’m not sure how much time I’ll have to take photos and shoot videos. But I’m going to give it a try, and am looking forward to seeing how creative I might be with the final product. (I reserve the right to withhold the results from public viewing, but the goal is to let you and anyone else see what I produce and give constructive feedback. Hopefully not too much laughter, unless it’s warranted.)

With my job searching priorities, it might take me a while to get everything online, so a little patience is appreciated. But I am excited to get going on this project and see what my creative juices might produce. I hope you and I both like the results and who knows where or what might be beyond the next hill.Story telling 8

One thought on “Getting into this video/photography thing a little more

Leave a Reply

