Vacation is just another way to tire you out

We live in a mobile society. We’re always on the move, going here and there. “What’s that place like? I’ve always wanted to visit there.”

It’s great to be inquisitive, but does it have to be so tiring?

I recently drove across Colorado, back to my old stomping grounds in Rifle, for a quick visit with good friends. It was good to get out of the city, see the mountains again. Then it was on to Grand Junction to see a relative and back home.

Tired 1My trip odometer said we drove 515 miles. But we crammed it all in to two days, so we could get home before the lawn, flowers and vegetables withered in the heat. And man, I slept like a baby two nights in a row. Still kind of tired a couple of days later.

Tired 3I guess it’s just another sign of age. In our 20s, we go and go. Day and night. Crash for 4-5 hours, get up and do it again. Those days are long gone. Or maybe it’s because I’ve cut back on coffee. Much less caffeine coursing through my veins and all.

Whatever the reasons, travel and vacations are tiring. Then when you get home, you have work around the house to get caught up, emails to respond to, bills to pay, grass to mow. So there’s really no rest for the weary. Did I actually take a vacation?

Tired 2Still and all, I guess it’s good for the soul to get away every now and then. If nothing else, a change of scenery is nice. And throw in time with friends and family, and it can be priceless, right?

I just wish it didn’t take so much out of me.

One thought on “Vacation is just another way to tire you out

Leave a Reply

