Different holidays still important for us all

The holiday season has usually been a time for family, although the numbers of relatives that gather have dwindled over the years.  That’s despite more and more family members. Kind of an oxymoron, in a way.

Since families are so spread out nowadays, it’s more difficult to gather in one place. Case in point for my family was a summer reunion this year. Holidays 2Holidays 3

I think there were around 70 people who attended at least one day out of the several-day gathering. Nowhere near the numbers of my youth. Again, seems like something’s off, right?

The holiday season is the same. My immediate family now numbers three, but my brother lives out of state. He will visit for Christmas as always, which is always good. But my dad and a second brother are no longer with us. And as I said, the extended family is far flung.

So the holidays are different. I wouldn’t say they’re any less enjoyable, just different. My brother and I have not been kids in a long, long time, so Christmas isn’t quite filled with the fun and surprise we enjoyed way back in the day.

Holidays 4Holidays 5

I’m not a real Scrooge at this time of year by any means. It’s always nice to spend time with family during the holidays, along with squeezing in a few friends at times. It’s just different, it comes with living life.

Back a few generations, I think things were different. Families lived much closer to each other, so they spent more time together. Social media may help keep us in touch, but it’s not the same as sitting down and visiting. I don’t think anything will ever take the place of that simple action. Thankfully.

Holidays 1I hope you will be spending time with the ones you love and like this year and in the years to come. The world today seems to be in so much turmoil, I think it’s good for all of us to gather with the people who know us best and make some memories to last a lifetime.

 

Leave a Reply

