#WeekendCoffeeShare 4/16/16

Friends FingersIf we were having coffee, I’d tell you the last few weeks have been interesting. I know that may sound like a boring word to you, but from my perspective, it fits.

I’ve started learning, at a beginning level, what working at a library might be like. So far, my volunteering has focused mainly on arranging and stacking books and DVDs on the shelves after they’ve been returned. And, man, do people love to check out movies from the library! There’s been a constant stream of people rummaging through the titles every day I’ve been there. Made me wonder why Blockbuster is no more. (Oh yeah…movies are free at the library and you can stream them online. Economics and technology killed the video star, I guess…)

At any rate, I like the few hours a week I’m helping out at the library, and I’m still hoping it can lead to a job there. I think I’d like helping people find what they’re looking for and answering their questions. In a way, I did some of that as a journalist and the people (like nearly every profession, I’d say) made it worthwhile and rewarding.

cropped-me-032515.jpg
Mike McKibbin

Speaking of my next career move, I met some very likable fellow writers at a MeetUp group meeting for freelance writers. A couple were also ex-journalists, one is a young reporter and others write to varying degrees. It was a good chance to get some answers (hopefully) on how to make it financially as a freelancer, or 1099er. Like all job searching, it’s not easy but I now have somewhat of a game plan and hope to refine it and start to move forward. We’ll see what happens.

And I received several freelance writing assignments from CMC, so that’s added to my interest in seeing if I can make this work. I like the stories they ask me to write, always good news- features about people moving forward in their lives. So I’ll be busy with those stories in the next week or so.

Other than professional-type stuff, I mowed the lawn for the first time this spring. That’s always good exercise and it gets me outdoors. Plus, it’s a chance to clear my head and get recharged. I’ve always been able to get my second wind or a different outlook on things by doing something outside. Digging in the dirt, breathing fresh(er) air, soaking up vitamin D are all things I look forward to each spring and summer.

That’s what’s new with me this week…so what’s up with you?

Coffee Sharing saying

2 thoughts on “#WeekendCoffeeShare 4/16/16

  1. Glad you’re enjoying the work at the local library! I’m not sure I would enjoy the stacking and organizing so much, but it does sound like fun to help people find the books they’re looking for or work with them on research. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

